Strategies, Challenges, and Answers

Nevada’s Auto Liability Compulsory Insurance Minimums To Increase

Increase in Minimum LimitsI have been practicing law in Nevada for nearly 30 years. For as long as I can remember, Nevada has required autos registered in this state to have bodily injury automobile liability insurance of at least $15,000 per person / $30,000 per occurrence.  The minimum automobile liability limit for property damages has been set at $10,000 per occurrence.  NRS 485.185 and NRS 485.3091.

That is due to change on July 1, 2018. An increase in the minimum limits is set to take effect.  On that date, the required bodily injury liability limits will increase to $25,000 per person / $50,000 per occurrence and the property damage liability limit will increase to $20,000 per occurrence.

Senate Bill 308, passed during the 2017 legislative session brought about this change.  This Compulsory Insurance increase in minimum auto liability limits will have wide-ranging impact.  For example, the liability limit will also increase for short-term auto rentals.  See, NRS 482.305.  If a driver is involved in an accident and does not have these new minimum limits of coverage or cannot satisfy a judgment for an amount of the minimum limits, Nevada will suspend that driver’s license or issue a notice to the state of that driver asking that his or her license be suspended.  NRS 485.210 and NRS 485.304.

Furthermore, the minimum uninsured/underinsured limits that must be offered must be no less than the minimum limits of liability insurance established by NRS chapter 485.  NRS 690B.020.

While these new requirements will increase the amount of coverage available to injured people, they will also increase the premiums of those drivers who have had $15,000 / $30,000 / $10,000 minimum liability limits.  If you have questions about insurance and coverage law in Nevada, please do not hesitate to contact Mike Mills at 702.240.6060×114.  He will be glad to speak with you.

Please follow and like us:

Speak Your Mind

*